Making me crazy

Please click on the image above to see it more closely

The builder did a few renovations this year, such as extending my balcony rail of the upstairs balcony which overlooks the courtyard, building a pergola in front of it, and moving into the courtyard corner my “bus shelter”, which is a wee trellissed sitting area that resembles a bus shelter in shape and size.  So this meant that he had to pull up some pavers and pour in concrete.

I have already made a mosaic garden table top on an old concrete paver (enormous and heavy) and a few other pavers here and there my daughter and I have made together, one in the middle of the chamomile lawn, which tells the story of “our little white townhouse with the chamomile lawn” and another is in front of the gate leading into the vegetable garden, the gate which was built this year while the other renovations were being done.

At the moment, there are a few places in the garden waiting for concrete to be poured in so that I can mosaic on the top.  There is a trick to it, efficient work is needed.  Once the concrete has been poured, one has to work fast before it sets which is a challenge.

So in this case I already had the crockery broken and cut into usable shapes.  I put them into colours so that I could grab them as needed.  I always save broken china, because I love being creative in the garden with mosaics proper and crazy mosaics, and some crockery is just so beautiful it is a shame to throw it out.  See the top of the broken dark blue vase in the pile?  My mother made that, so naturally it is a treasure to me, and I am delighted to be able to remember her beautiful work when I look at the way I have recycled it in the small crazy mosaic.  Life is good.

0 Responses to “Making me crazy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Please follow me on Twitter

My latest tweets

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

