Plantings in the Enjoyment Garden

The Enjoyment Garden as of 18 October 2008

The Enjoyment Garden as of 18 October 2008

Today I got out there.  Felicity and I went for a drive out to Woodend, and on the way, we got 2 trays of 5 sweetcorn plants, and some lettuce, which I should have looked at more closely, as there were only three plants in there.

Then when I got home, I saw that the red orach I bought last week could really go in, or at least out of the glass-covered patch.  I also planted the kohlrahbi which I bought last week.  I thought they would be ideal in the enjoyment patch.

The Enjoyment Patch is in the corner, directly in front of the compost bin.  So the lettuces will be slightly sheltered from the sun in the heat of summer and hopefully won’t bolt too quickly.

And as usual, what enjoyment I had there in the garden.  I watered the earth first (didn’t put any compost on, but will pile it all up tomorrow when I get a chance), then weeded and dug some holes for the plants with my NIWASHI.  It’s my favourite tool for the garden.  So I made sure it was in the photo.

This morning I had been a bit creative, and made some slightly curled photo edges, so I thought it would be ideal to use one of those in my wee layout above.  Click on it for an enlargement.  The font, of course, is my own handwriting, jules-writing (also known as jules-te-reo as it uses Maori macrons), the painted butterfly is from my Spring is Sprung element pack (well, Spring is here in New Zealand in October), the slightly shabby striped paper behind everything is from an old paper pack of mine called Autumn Chalk Papers (really should re-release that).  The notepad sheet with the wee dog sticker on it is a freebie that comes with my NB Note Well Notelets.  The photo edge is a set I am getting together at the moment which still needs more work.  The only thing that is not mine is the All is Green by one of my favourite designers, Theres K.  By the way I have made a 6×4 Quick Page 300dpi freebie, a simpler version of the above layout with only my own designs.  Please download it here.

Next weekend is Labour weekend, traditionally the weekend for tackling most of the preseason garden projects.  I can hardly wait!

Leave a Reply

Pages

Please follow me on Twitter

My latest tweets

October 2008
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

