A new season

Today I dropped my parents (aged 81 and 93) back to the airport after a great week together.  On the way to the airport we stopped in at the Strickland Street Community Garden spring fair, where I spent $9 and got the following:

5 chamomile lawn seedlings (I have seeds but this is a kick start for my patch in front of the sitting area)

1 wonderlight tomato plant (a lightbulb shaped tomato)

1 tray of kohlrabi

1 tray of lettuce

Then after the airport, I called in at the Southern Seed Exchange seed swap, where I am a member.

I got the following seedlings:

curly lettuce, red orach, a variety of pumpkin which is like a gourd, raspberry, anjelica, freesias,

plus some seeds:

sunflower, crown pumpkin, dwarf beans, and I think a couple of others.

When I got home, I planted what I should, and put the rest in my glass cloche, with my vege seedlings.  It’s a bit too early in the season here in Christchurch to take the risk with my seedlings and baby plants just yet, so they can stay under the glass where it is sunny and warm. 

Unfortunately I have lost my gardening notebook from last year, where I recorded all my harvests, plantings etc.  It was a shabby wee thing anyway, so I have decided that this year, I will record things properly in a nice book, as well as writing this blog.  So I will have a page for harvests, plans, and this part of the blog will cover what I am doing generally.  Should I also have a wishlist for longer term plans?  After all that is how my garden got to be what it is today.

Spring is here, and although I still have silverbeet, asparagus, maori potatoes (urenika) from previous years still producing, today is the start of the new season now that I have officially planted stuff in the dirt.

Life is good.

0 Responses to “A new season”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Please follow me on Twitter

My latest tweets

October 2008
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

